Your timeframe for filing a discrimination claim

Nearly every issue that you may need to file a complaint or lawsuit concerning has a statute of limitations, which is the time frame in which you can file a complaint. If you are experiencing discrimination or harassment, it is important that you are aware of the statute of limitations so that you can seek justice.

According the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), there are 180 days in which you can take action concerning workplace discrimination. However, that statute of limitations is extended to 300 days if there are state or local laws that also prohibit the type of discrimination you are dealing with. This timeframe begins the day that you experience the discriminatory act.

Workplace harassment, while often linked to discrimination, is likely part an ongoing environment. Because of this, the statute of limitations begins at the most recent date that you experienced harassment and investigations will consider harassment that happened previously as well.

Texas’ discrimination laws

Texas outlaws workplace discrimination. Chapter 21 of the Texas Labor Code prohibits discrimination based on age over 40, sex, race, color, disability, religion or national origin. Houston specifically protects city workers from sexual orientation or gender identity discrimination.

How to file a discrimination or harassment claim

If you are experiencing discrimination or harassment at work, the first step is to notify your employer. You can file an official complaint with the EEOC in person, by mail or online. Then, the organization will investigate your claim. If it is necessary to take further action, you can also contact an attorney and take file a lawsuit against the offender.

Related Posts
  • How employers discriminate during the hiring process Read More
  • Activision Blizzard lawsuit ended and new policies in place Read More
  • Microsoft construction site and allegations of racial harassment Read More